Good Kids Can Have Bad Days: Possession of a Fake I.D. in Florida
For many high school and college kids in Florida under the age of 21, it may be tempting to obtain a fake or altered driver’s license in order to buy alcohol or get into a club or bar where the legal age to enter is 21 and over. Whether the fake license or I.D. card is obtained through the black market or an existing driver’s license is altered to change the date of birth or even if the license used belongs to someone else who is over the age of 21, the penalties in Florida are stiff and can alter the rest of their lives.
In the state of Florida, it is a felony for someone to have in their possession a stolen, fake, counterfeit, fraudulent or unlawfully issued driver’s license or identification card. This felony offense is punishable by up to five years in prison and subject to a $5,000 fine. Additionally, the defendant may be subject to disciplinary procedures at their school, even if the crime did not occur on the campus. But the sad part is that virtually no one who tries to pass a fake ID has any idea they are committing a felony in Florida and the individuals committing these felonies generally are teenagers and 20-year-olds just attempting to get into a club to have some fun!
Here are some examples of other related fake identification laws in Florida:
· If you use somebody else’s driver’s license or state-issued I.D. card, this is a second degree misdemeanor crime in Florida and is punishable by 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
· If you let somebody borrow your driver’s license or state-issued I.D. card, this is also a second degree misdemeanor crime in Florida and is punishable by 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
· If you identify yourself to a police officer with a false or fake driver’s license or identification card, this is first degree misdemeanor in Florida and is punishable by up to one year in prison and a $1000 fine. In addition, you may also be charged as Resisting Arrest without Violence which is also a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine up to $1,000.
As you can see, these are serious charges! Having a conviction of any of these offenses on your record can have significant and life-altering consequences. If you, your child or someone you know has been charged with violating any of these laws, it is important for you to seek out and hire a criminal defense attorney. The Misdemeanor Clinic can help! Call us today at (561) 425-8229 to set up a consultation or visit our website at www.misdemeanorclinic.com.